Xeelee Sequence omnibus by Stephen Baxter containing the novels: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring

The novel “Raft” by Stephen Baxter was published for the first time in 1991. It’s considered the first novel in the Xeelee Sequence. In “Raft” you see Stephen Baxter’s style as one of the most important writers currently active in the hard science fiction genre. This novel is in fact set in another universe where gravity is much stronger than our universe and the scientific component is important.

Kim Stanley Robinson at Worldcon 2005

American writer Kim Stanley Robinson was born on March 23, 1952 in Waukegan, Illinois. He’s particularly famous for his Mars trilogy: its novels: Red Mars, Green Mars and Blue Mars wan the Hugo, Nebula and Locus prize.

Douglas Adams

Douglas Noel Adams was born on March 11, 1952 in Cambridge, England. Douglas Adams is particularly famous for writing “The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” series, adapted into a radio series, a series of novels, a television series, two movies and a number of stage plays.

A Case of Conscience by James Blish

The novel “A Case of Conscience” by James Blish was published for the first time in 1958. The first part was published as a novella in the magazine “If” in 1953. The novel won the Hugo Award for best novel of the year. In 2004, the original novella won the Retro Hugo Award given to works published 50 years earlier.