Pet Sematary by Stephen King

The novel “Pet Sematary” by Stephen King was published for the first time in 1983.

Louis Creed is a doctor who has just found a good job at the University of Maine and moves to a house near the town of Ludlow with his wife Rachel, their two children Ellie and Gage and the cat Winston Churchill nicknamed Church. An elderly couple, Jud and Norma Crandall, live near them and look like friendly neighbors. In many ways it’s an ideal situation even if the house is close to a road traveled by trucks but initially there are other problems.

The beginning of Louis’s job on the University campus is troubled when he tries to rescue Victor Pascow, a student victim of an accident with such serious injuries that Louis can only see him die in front of his eyes as he says words that apparently make no sense. His love life is also disturbed when Rachel gets very angry after Jud brought their family to a pet cemetery near the house because she fears that Ellie may ask uncomfortable questions. The whole family will soon be forced to confront death.

The Consuming Fire by John Scalzi

The novel “The Consuming Fire” by John Scalzi was published for the first time in 2018 and follows “The Collapsing Empire”. It’s the second book in the Interdependency series.

Emperox Grayland II received the first evidence that the predictions presented by Marce Claremont were correct and the shoals of the Flow started disappearing. The whole Interdependency is in danger but not everyone believes that it’s real, while for someone, especially in the Nohamapetan House, the possible changes are an opportunity to reach the throne.

While Grayland II announces to the Church of the Interdependency that she had visions, Marce Claremont realizes that his father’s theories can be completed by the research of Hatide Roynold, who until then he considered his rival. Predicting in a more precise way the future of the the Flow shoals will help but only if the Emperox manages to stay alive.

The Taking of Chelsea 426 by David Llewellyn

The novel “The Taking of Chelsea 426” by David Llewellyn was published for the first time in 2009.

When the Tenth Doctor arrives on Chelsea 426, a space colony orbiting the planet Saturn, his first impression is of a rather boring place with rules that prevent fun. The Flower Show is a local event but the Doctor’s attention is drawn in particular to a strange plant discovered in space.

The Doctor tries to examine the mysterious plant before the show opens but without success. His investigation is interrupted by the arrival of a Sontaran spaceship on a special mission commanded by intelligence General Kade.

Arthur Conan Doyle in 1914 (Photo Walter Benington)

Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on May 22, 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland. “A Study in Scarlet”, the first Sherlock Holmes novel, was published in 1887 and was a great success. 56 short stories and three more novels about the famous detective were published in the following years: “The Sign of Four” (1890), “The Hound of the Baskervilles” (1902) and “The Valley of Fear” (1915). At a certain point the author made Holmes die in the short story “The Final Problem”, which introduces his archenemy Moriarty, but the readers’ reaction convinced him to find a way to change the detective’s destiny.

The novel “The Lost World” (1912) became a classic among modern science fiction precursors. Arthur Conan Doyle re-used the character of Professor Challenger for some other novels and short stories that today can be considered science fiction.

On July 7, 1930, Arthur Conan Doyle suffered a heart attack at his country home in Windlesham. At the time of his death, the character of Sherlock Holmes had already become the protagonist of some movies and a number of short films, quickly becoming an icon far beyond literature. He’s a crucial character in the detective story / mystery genre but the author is also remembered for other important works in various genres, also often adapted in cinema and television productions.

Ultima by Stephen Baxter

The novel “Ultima” by Stephen Baxter was published for the first time in 2014. It’s the second book in the Proxima series and follows “Proxima”.

A group of people reached a different timeline and only the artificial intelligence known as Earthshine has some idea about what’s going on. The human beings who made that strange journey are only interested in trying to make a living in the new conditions despite the difficulties.

For Earthshine the matter is quite different because its plans are much more ambitious and long-term. The new situation is just another step in the search for the mysterious creators of hatches and kernels. His actions, however, can bring unexpected consequences, at least for his old traveling companions.