Jack Vance at the helm of his boat in the early '80s

News came of the death of the American writer Jack Vance, a master of science fiction and fantasy. He passed away on May 26, 2013 at his home in Oakland. During his long career Jack Vance wrote many novels including varios cycles: The Dying Earth, the Demon Princes, Tschai, Durdane, Alastor, Lyonesse and the Cadwal Chronicles.

Ron Goulart in 2009

Ronald Joseph Goulart was born on January 13, 1933 in Berkeley, California. Ron Goulart has written more than 180 books and a lot of short fiction of various genres, from mystery to fantasy, from science fiction to non-fiction. His production includes many comic books, of which he’s a big fan and expert.

C.J. Cherryh on April 14 2006 at the NorWesCon in Seattle

Carolyn Janice Cherry, this is her real name, was born on September 1, 1942 in St. Louis, Missouri. She has wrote more than 60 science fiction and fantasy novels. She won the Hugo for the best novel of the year with “Downbelow Station” (1981) and “Cyteen” (1989).

Ray Bradbury on December 5, 2009

The great writer Ray Bradbury died last nigh. Ray Douglas Bradbury was born on August 22, 1920 in Waukegan, Illinois. He was particularly famous for the stories of the “Martian Chronicles” and the novel “Fahrenheit 451” but he wrote a lot of science fiction, fantasy and horror stories.

Christopher Lee at the 62nd Berlin International Film Festival on February 9, 2012

Christopher Frank Carandini Lee was born May 27, 1922 in London, England. He became famous for his roles in horror movies, particularly as Dracula. However, in decades of career, he had roles in move and TV productions of all kinds. In recent years, he had roles in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and the Star Wars prequels.