Hull Zero Three by Greg Bear

The novel “Hull Zero Three” by Greg Bear was published for the first time in 2010.

A man awakens from Dreamtime naked, wet and cold in a place that is not familiar to him. A young girl explains to him that he’s Teacher and must adapt quickly or die. Fragments of memory emerge but too little and too slowly to end its confusion. The presence of strange creatures in the corridors certainly doesn’t help.

Teacher tries to understand his situation but doesn’t know how reliable the information provided by other people he meets can be. Putting together the various pieces of information, he realizes that he’s traveling on Ship but doesn’t know its destination. He understands that something serious happened and reconstructing those events could be the key to the survival of all humans on board.

The Godmakers by Frank Herbert

The novel “The Godmakers” – in some editions styled as “The God Makers” – by Frank Herbert was published for the first time in 1972 as an expansion of four short stories published in previous years.

Lewis Orne works for a government agency that aims to identify planets where there’s a risk of war breaking out and to find ways to keep peace. Seeing the signs of that kind of risk is not always easy but his mental abilities seem to develop in such a way that they allow him to perform in-depth analyzes that after various missions lead him to disturbing conclusions.

On the planet Amel, a religious order has the extremely ambitious aim of creating a god and it’s not the first time they have dona that. They don’t know from what creature, or what, it will be born and yet what the Abbod says and does was designed and calibrated with extreme precision because random influences are too dangerous.

Miracle Visitors by Ian Watson (Italian Edition)

The novel “Miracle Visitors” by Ian Watson was published for the first time in 1978.

Michael Peacocke is a boy when he has an alien abduction experience. When psychologist John Deacon subjects him to a hypnotic treatment, the memories of those events emerge fully, but Dr. Deacon interprets them as a distorted sexual fantasy, not believing that they’re real memories.

When strange things start happening to Dr. John Deacon, he’s forced to revise his interpretation of Michael Peacocke’s story. However, the situation seems to get more confusing instead of clearing up. What do these events have to do with an Egyptian religious group?

Paradise by Mike Resnick

The novel “Paradise” by Mike Resnick was published for the first time in 1993. It’s the first book in the Galactic Comedy series.

Matthew Breen is a journalist who wants to write a book on the planet Peponi, a former human colony to which the Republic granted independence, leaving the government to the native sentient species. To do this, he interviews some people who lived on Peponi and then left it.

A few years later, Matthew Breen gets invited to Peponi by its president Buko Pepon, who asks him to write his biography. To do this, the journalist must not only interview him but also investigate the situation of the planet and the natives after independence, discovering a series of problems.

Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor

The novel “Lagoon” by Nnedi Okorafor was published for the first time in 2014.

A series of circumstances brings three strangers living in Lagos, Nigeria, to meet: the marine biologist Adaora, the rapper Anthony and the soldier Agu. When a strange meteorite crashes into the nearby ocean, the destinies of the three of them become united. Their meeting with an alien shapeshifting creature that takes the shape of a woman who gets named Ayodele changes their lives.

Ayodele is just one of the aliens arrived on Earth so it’s essential to try to avoid panic and set up a meeting with the president of Nigeria. The contact with a series of Lagos inhabitants quickly starts destabilizing the difficult equilibria existing in the city.