A blog about a novel

The Mind Parasites by Colin Wilson (Italian edition)

The novel “The Mind Parasites” by Colin Wilson was published for the first time in 1967.

When Dr. Gilbert Austin discovers that his friend Karel Weissman has committed suicide, he remains shocked. He can’t believe that a man he knew well could do such a thing but the issue becomes even more shocking when Austin starts reading the papers Weissman left him and discovers that his friend was convinced that humanity is under the attack of a kind of mental cancer.

Those events have a profound effect on Gilbert Austin’s archaeological research as well when he discovers the existence of the remains of a civilization so ancient that it’s buried at a depth never seen. Along with other colleagues, Austin tries to study those ancient ruins but with surprise when he tries to find traces of some memories of their builders he discovers them in the writings of writer H.P. Lovecraft.

Pack Animals by Peter Anghelides

The novel “Pack Animals” by Peter Anghelides was published for the first time in 2008.

Halloween is coming while Gwen Cooper and her fiance Rhys Williams are making preparations for their wedding. However, the festive atmosphere gets spoiled by a series of strange attacks by Weevils and in some cases of other creatures that in turn attack them. Captain Jack Harkness’s team isn’t equipped for interventions on that scale and there’s a risk that the Cardiff population gets panicky while Torchwood drew the attention of a journalist.

The members of the Torchwood team have their hands full trying to contain the attacks, prevent the news of the creatures that carried them out spread and figure out if there’s a thread behind it. Among the clues there’s the discovery of playing cards with monster images including Weevils and above all the apparitions of people who seem to be steps ahead of them with an ever-present name: Achenbrite.

The Exiles trilogy by Ben Bova

The novel “End of Exile” by Ben Bova was published for the first time in 1972. It’s the third book in the Exiles trilogy and follows “Flight of Exiles”.

When Peta causes a damage that greatly reduces food production, a severe punishment is inevitable. His friend Linc tries to intercede for him but can’t save him because the message from Jerlet through his priestess Magda shows no change in the laws governing the community’s hard life. Linc would like to try to restore food production but it’s using the machines is forbidden so it’s impossible to repair anything that is broken.

In spite of that law, Linc finds out how to run one of the repairing equipments but this gets him in trouble with Monel, who wants to take power in the community. The only hope for Linc is to look for Jerlet to gain his support and to ask him what’s the star that’s getting bigger and bigger.

Voyage of the Star Wolf by David Gerrold (Italian edition)

The novel “Voyage of the Star Wolf” by David Gerrold was published for the first time in 1990. It’s part of the Star Wolf series.

The starship LS-1187 doesn’t have a name for it has to be conquered in battle. It’s assigned to the fleet which has the task of protecting the interstellar commercial route known as Silk Road and the planets on the route from possible attacks by the Morthan Solidarity.

Against any prediction, the fleet is attacked by Morthan starships that outgun them and the result is disastrous. The starship LS-1187 gests severely damaged and ends up drifting into space, with very little chance for the crew members who weren’t killed in the attack to survive. Its Executive Officer Jonathan Thomas Korie must take command to bring the starship to salvation but things start getting bad.

Wooden Heart by Martin Day

The novel “Wooden Heart” by Martin Day was published for the first time in 2007.

The Tardis brings the Tenth Doctor and Martha Jones to the starship Castor, which apparently is deserted. Exploring it, they realize that this is an old prison ship that now seems out of use and is drifting into space. Despite that, following what appears to be a normal corridor at one point they find themselves in a forest.

Trying to figure out where they ended up, the Doctor and Martha discover that there’s a village in the area inhabited by people who have no idea of the Castor’s existence. On the other hand, in the village the children started disappearing and some prophecies promise destruction.