Science Fiction

Blogs about science fiction

Arthur Conan Doyle in 1914 (Photo Walter Benington)

Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born on May 22, 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland. “A Study in Scarlet”, the first Sherlock Holmes novel, was published in 1887 and was a great success. 56 short stories and three more novels about the famous detective were published in the following years: “The Sign of Four” (1890), “The Hound of the Baskervilles” (1902) and “The Valley of Fear” (1915). At a certain point the author made Holmes die in the short story “The Final Problem”, which introduces his archenemy Moriarty, but the readers’ reaction convinced him to find a way to change the detective’s destiny.

The novel “The Lost World” (1912) became a classic among modern science fiction precursors. Arthur Conan Doyle re-used the character of Professor Challenger for some other novels and short stories that today can be considered science fiction.

On July 7, 1930, Arthur Conan Doyle suffered a heart attack at his country home in Windlesham. At the time of his death, the character of Sherlock Holmes had already become the protagonist of some movies and a number of short films, quickly becoming an icon far beyond literature. He’s a crucial character in the detective story / mystery genre but the author is also remembered for other important works in various genres, also often adapted in cinema and television productions.

Ultima by Stephen Baxter

The novel “Ultima” by Stephen Baxter was published for the first time in 2014. It’s the second book in the Proxima series and follows “Proxima”.

A group of people reached a different timeline and only the artificial intelligence known as Earthshine has some idea about what’s going on. The human beings who made that strange journey are only interested in trying to make a living in the new conditions despite the difficulties.

For Earthshine the matter is quite different because its plans are much more ambitious and long-term. The new situation is just another step in the search for the mysterious creators of hatches and kernels. His actions, however, can bring unexpected consequences, at least for his old traveling companions.

The Prison in Antares by Mike Resnick (Italian Edition)

The novel “The Prison in Antares” by Mike Resnick was published for the first time in 2015. It’s the second novel in the Dead Enders series and follows “The Fortress in Orion”.

Some Democracy scientists found a defense against the Q bomb, the devastating weapon of the Transkei Coalition that killed an huge number of people for years. The Coalition’s reaction was the killing of almost all the scientists who invented that defense and the kidnapping of Edgar Nmumba, the only one who wasn’t killed.

Nathan Pretorius is tasked to free Edgar Nmumba or kill him if this proves impossible. Iris “Irish” Fitzhugh, a psychologist who will assess Nmumba’s mind state and check if he was compromised, is assigned to him and his team, nicknamed the Dead Enders. But first they have to find the scientist, locked up in a very peculiar prison.

John Scalzi in 2018

John Michael Scalzi II (photo ┬ęGage Skidmore) was born on May 10, 1969 in Fairfield, California, U.S.A.

John Scalzi started reading science fiction and mystery when he was a kid. He earned a bachelor in philosophy at the University of Chicago in 1991 and when he was still a student he started working as a journalist. After graduating, he worked for some years as a corporate consultant and movie critic.

In 1998 John Scalzi decided to become a full-time writer. Over the course of his career John Scalzi has explored very different themes, showing considerable versatility, so much so that he was also a consultant in the development of the TV show “Stargate Universe”. He’s now a well-established writer but he certainly still has much to offer to science fiction fans.

Luna: Moon Rising by Ian McDonald

The novel “Luna: Moon Rising” by Ian McDonald was published for the first time in 2019. It’s the third novel in the Luna series and follows “Luna: Wolf Moon”.

The clash among the Five Dragons, the most powerful families of the Moon, is heading towards a final showdown that will decide who will have power over lunar resources. The struggle for power, however, extended beyond the Moon because even on Earth there are factions that have agendas based on great changes in the management of those resources.

In a place where everything can be the subject of agreements and contracts, complex networks of interpersonal relationships determine alliances and rivalries but even within the various families there are complex relationships. Covert manipulations are as common as open clashes to carry out plans that will affect big changes in the Moon’s future.