The Internet Hall of Fame opens

Tim Berners-Lee in 2010
Tim Berners-Lee in 2010

The Internet Society is a non-profit organization founded in 1992 with the aim of ensuring an open Internet development, evolution and use for the benefit of all peoples of the world. To mark its twentieth anniversary, the Internet Society has launched the Internet Hall of Fame, an annual prize to give public recognition to people who made a significant contribution to the development of the Internet.

The Internet Hall of Fame consider the candidates in three different categories:

  • Pioneers Circle: This category recognizes individuals who were instrumental in the early design and development of the Internet.
  • Innovators: This category recognizes individuals who made outstanding technological, commercial, or policy advances and helped to expand the Internet’s reach.
  • Global Connectors: This category recognizes individuals from around the world who have made significant contributions to the global growth and use of the Internet.

The candidates were selected using as criteria for evaluation their impact on the development of the Internet, their influence on the work of others and society, innovation they brought and the impact on the expansion of the Internet.

In the ceremony held yesterday in Geneva, Switzerland, the first group of people has been introduced in the Internet Hall of Fame.

For the Pioneers Circle, the people introduced into the Internet Hall of Fame are: Paul Baran, Vint Cerf, Danny Cohen, Steve Crocker, Donald Davies, Elizabeth Feinler, Charles Herzfeld, Robert Kahn, Peter Kirstein, Leonard Kleinrock, John Klensin, Jon Postel, Louis Pouzin, and Lawrence Roberts.

Among the Innovators, the people introduced into the Internet Hall of Fame are: Mitchell Baker, Tim Berners-Lee, Robert Cailliau, Van Jacobson, Lawrence Landweber, Paul Mockapetris, Craig Newmark, Raymond Tomlinson, Linus Torvalds, and Philip Zimmermann.

Among the Global Connectors, the people introduced into the Internet Hall of Fame are: Randy Bush, Kilnam Chon, Al Gore, Nancy Hafkin, Geoff Huston, Brewster Kahle, Daniel Karrenberg, Toru Takahashi, and Tan Tin Wee.

There are very important names in this list, from the fathers of the Internet such as Vinton Gray “Vint” Cerf to the inventor of the world-wide-web Tim Berners-Lee (photo ©Paul Clarke) to the inventor of Linux, the operating system that essentially runs the Internet, Linus Torvalds to the politician who perhaps most of all has promoted the Internet Al Gore.

Unfortunately, not all of them are alive. Jon Postel passed away in 1998 after providing significant contributions to the development of Internet standards. Donald Davies passed away in 2000 after being one of the inventors of packet switching computer networks.

Some of these people are very well known, others are known only among people who work in the field. Therefore, it’s nice and appropriate for everyone to have a public recognition.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *