Doctor Who - The Masque of Mandragora

“The Masque of Mandragora” is the first adventure of the fourteenth season of “Doctor Who” classic series, which aired in 1976. It follows “The Seeds of Doom” and it’s a four parts adventure written by Louis Marks and directed by Rodney Bennett.

The Fourth Doctor (Tom Baker) is showing Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen) various rooms inside the Tardis and at some point they reach its secondary control room. The Doctor activates the screen and see that there’s a living energy vortex, known as Mandragora Helix. The Tardis travels through it and when eventually rematerializes and lands, it brings a fragment along with it.

The Duke of San Martino is dying and passes away exactly in the day that the astrologer Hieronymous predicted. His son Giuliano becomes the new Duke but doesn’t believe in superstitions and in fact there’s a plot carried out by Hieronymous together with Count Federico to take over the city. The arrival of the Doctor and Sarah Jane, who unknowingly carry a fragment of alien energy, makes the situation even more dangerous.

Doctor Who - Colony in Space

“Colony in Space” is an adventure of the eigth season of “Doctor Who” classic series, which aired in 1971. It follows “The Claws of Axos” and it’s a six parts adventure written by Malcolm Hulke and directed by Michael Briant.

The story

Three Time Lords meet to discuss the theft of confidential files about a very powerful weapon. They’re forced to admit that the only person capable of handling such a situation is the Doctor but the mission requires a trip in space and in another time so they have to temporarily suspend his exile to Earth.

The Third Doctor (Jon Pertwee) is working on the Tardis when it actives and dematerializes carrying the Doctor and Jo Grant (Katy Manning), who had entered it, on the planet Uxarieus in the 25th century. The Doctor realizes that the Time Lord controlled the Tardis remotely and must understand why they sent him to what looks like a small human colony.

Doctor Who - The Reign of Terror

“The Reign of Terror” is the last adventure of the first season of “Doctor Who” classic series, which aired in 1964 featuring the First Doctor, Ian, Barbara and Susan. It follows “The Sensorites” and it’s a six parts adventure written by Dennis Spooner and directed by Henric Hirsch.

The First Doctor (William Hartnell), Susan (Carole Ann Ford), Ian (William Russell) and Barbara (Jacqueline Hill) arrive on Earth. They hoped to be back in London in the present of the two teachers, but after a brief exploration, they realize to be in France at the time of the infamous reign of terror.

The contact with local leads to separation of the Doctor from the rest of the group. Ian, Barbara and Susan are mistaken for counter-revolutionaries and taken to Paris, where they are imprisoned. If they can’t quickly find a way to escape from the prison they’ll be guillotined!

Doctor Who - The Ambassadors of Death

“The Ambassadors of Death” is an adventure of the seventh season of “Doctor Who” classic series, which aired in 1970 featuring the Third Doctor and Liz Shaw. It follows “The Silurians” and it’s a seven parts adventure written by David Whitaker and directed by Michael Ferguson.

Doctor Who - Image of the Fendahl

“Image of the Fendahl” is an adventure of the fifteenth season of “Doctor Who” classic series, which aired in 1977 featuring the Fourth Doctor and Leela. It follows “The Invisible Enemy” and it’s a four parts adventure written by Chris Boucher and directed by George Spenton-Foster.

A group of scientists is carrying out tests on a human skull found in Kenya. According to the dating the skull is twelve million years old, defying all knowledge about human evolution. During a test, the skull appears to emit some kind of energy that connects to Thea Ransome, a scientist in the group.

The Tardis is attracted to Earth by the energy emission and the Fourth Doctor (Tom Baker), concerned about the possible consequences, goes to investigate together with Leela (Louise Jameson) to prevent possible disasters. To achieve this he’ll have to face the Fendahl and the Fendahleen.