The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

The novel “The Invisible Man: A Grotesque Romance”, generally known simply as “The Invisible Man”, by H.G. Wells was published for the first time in 1897. The novel is available on Project Gutenberg’s website.

When a stranger arrives at an inn in the English village of Iping, everyone can immediately notice that he’s not a person like any other. The man is in fact completely covered from head to toe, with a bandaged face and a fake nose. From the very beginning he shows he’s a recluse and the local people start wondering about him.

The stranger’s weirdness increases when what’s supposed to be his luggage have content quite out of the ordinary. The man claims he wants only to conduct a complex scientific research and doesn’t tolerate the innkeeper’s interference. When the woman asks him to pay his rent, the man reveals his invisibility.

Berserker by Fred Saberhagen (Italian edition)

The novel “Berserker” by Fred Saberhagen was published for the first time in 1967. It’s a fix-up of various short stories published in previous years.

During an ancient space war, two species fought each other to their mutual extinction. Of that war there what remained are only spaceships run by artificial intelligences equipped with powerful weapons, the ability to self-repair after suffering damage in battle and to build more spaceships with the characteristics needed for war.

The end of the war for these robotic machines were built for doesn’t stop their activity, which moves towards other species with the aim to lead them to extinction too. Among the sentient species, the Earth-descended humans seem to be the only ones who can fight these enemies they named the Berserkers.

Lady Silence (Nive Nielsen) in The Ladder (Image courtesy AMC Studios / Amazon. All rights reserved)

“The Ladder” is the third episode of the TV show “The Terror”, an adapatation of a novel by Dan Simmons with the same title, and follows “Gore”.

Note. This article contains spoilers about “The Ladder”.

Captain John Franklin (Ciarán Hinds) and Captain Francis Crozier (Jared Harris) argue about the actions to be taken to save the expedition. Their ideas are conflicting but soon those disagreements become the least of their problems.

Sick Building by Paul Magrs

The novel “Sick Building” by Paul Magrs was published for the first time in 2007.

The Tenth Doctor and Martha Jones arrive on the Tiermann’s World, so called because it’s inhabited by the Tiermann family. The Voracious Craw, an alien creature literally capable of devouring anything is coming and the Doctor wants to warn the Tiermanns of the coming threat. The reception is not exactly the friendliest received by travelers.

Professor Ernest Tiermann built on his world what he calls the Dreamhome in which a number of robots serve him and his family. The house is equipped with a force field that he believes to be impenetrable but which turns out to be vulnerable and loses stability when the Voracious Craw approaches the planet. Despite this, when the Doctor urges him to leave the planet, Professor Tiermann wants to do things his own way and has the Doctor locked in the cellar by his robots.

Captain Francis Crozier (Jared Harris) in Gore (Image courtesy AMC Studios / Amazon. All rights reserved)

“Gore” is the second episode of the TV show “The Terror”, an adapatation of a novel by Dan Simmons with the same title, and follows “Go for Broke”.

Note. This article contains spoilers about “Gore”.

The crews of the British ships HMS Erebus and HMS Terror spent a winter stuck in the Arctic ice. When the good weather arrives, Captain John Franklin (Ciarán Hinds) sends scouting teams in hopes of finding ice-free waters. One of the teams meets something else.