Science Fiction

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

The novel “All the Birds in the Sky” by Charlie Jane Anders was published for the first time in 2016. It won the Nebula Award for Best Novel, the IAFA William L. Crawford Fantasy Award, and the Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel.

Patricia is still a child when she starts talking to birds but she can’t control her magic skills. Laurence invented advanced equipment since his childhood and in time creates an artificial intelligence. Patricia and Laurence meet for the first time in the junior high school they attend, where they’re considered the two weirdest students.

Patricia and Laurence’s paths get separated, also because of the decisions of their idiotic parents. They meet again years later when she’s become a witch part of a cabal and he’s part of a group of geeks who invent revolutionary devices. Despite their differences, events bring them closer.

Wetworld by Mark Michalowski

The novel “Wetworld” by Mark Michalowski was published for the first time in 2007.

The Tenth Doctor wants to bring Martha Jones to a breakfast at Tiffany’s even though the two of them mean different Tiffanys. Something goes wrong and the Tardis materializes on the planet Sunday, in a swampy area where only the force field prevents the spacecraft from getting flooded.

The Doctor goes exploring and meets a girl from the human colony that settled on the planet, in the process of recovering after a tsunami caused by the fragment of a meteorite. Martha got ready for an elegant breakfast but when she leaves the Tardis she finds herself in the darkness and when she puts her hand out of the force field she gets grabbed by something that pulls her into the water.

Satan's Reach by Eric Brown

The novel “Satan’s Reach” by Eric Brown was published for the first time in 2013. It’s the second book of the Weird Space series and follows “The Devil’s Nebula”.

Den Harper is a telepath who ran from the Expansion because he no longer wanted to be used to do the regime’s dirty work. He’s wanted, also because his starship is stolen, so he has to watch his back from bounty hunters willing to travel to the worlds beyond the frontier of the Expansion.

During one of his journeys on a planet for a business not exactly legal, Den Harper meets Zeela Antarivo, a girl who is likely to end up as a slave to members of the native species. He manages to save her but the two of them get chased even off the planet and as if that wasn’t enough, it seems that new bounty hunters are targeting him.

A Quantum Murder by Peter F. Hamilton

The novel “A Quantum Murder” by Peter F. Hamilton was published for the first time in 1994. It’s the second of the Greg Mandel trilogy and follows “Mindstar Rising”.

Professor Edward Kitchener is a a double Nobel laureate and is one of the world’s most famous scientists but continues his career as a university teacher as well. In particular, he’s a kind of mentor for students with the highest skills. He’s also known to provide “special lessons” to female students.

When Edward Kitchener is killed in a particularly brutal manner that resembled the modus operandi of a serial killer who’s been locked in a criminal asylum for years, for the English police the case is very hot. Kitchener was also working on a project for Event Horizon and to check the case the company’s owner Julia Evans asks Greg Mandel for his help.

Stephen Baxter in 2005

Stephen Baxter was born on November 13, 1957 in Liverpool, England.

During his career Stephen Baxter has become one of the most important hard science fiction authors with several works in which the scientific and technological elements are crucial in the plots. The exploration of the future of humanity or other universes with alternative stories for Baxter passes for those advances while developing at the same time their consequences.