The Micronauts by Gordon Williams

The novel “The Micronauts” by Gordon Williams was published for the first time in 1977. It’s the first book in the Micronauts trilogy.

Overpopulation led to famines and growing social unrest. Only the World Food Control (WFC), under the auspices of the UN, is somehow maintaining order in the world, often using force. Commissioner Towne rules it firmly but is becoming increasingly paranoid.

When Towne discovers that George Richards, one of his most trusted subordinates, has been using his authority to steal various assets, he immediately begins an investigation. The ruthless Security Commander Andrei Khomich, not accidentally nicknamed “The Butcher”, is tasked with uncovering Richards’ plans and what emerges is the Arcadia project but what is it?

Sea Change by Nancy Kress

The novel “Sea Change” by Nancy Kress was published for the first time in 2020.

Renata Black uses the alias Caroline Denton when she works for the Org, a underground organization that carries out genetic research to create plants better suited to the new climate situation of 2032. Members of the Org are violating the ban on genetic engineering and as a result, are considered terrorists by all American government agencies.

An unexpected event is always viewed with suspicion by Org members because there can never be too many precautions. Renata/Caroline knows only a few members of the Org precisely to limit the risks and yet it can happen that someone is discovered and arrested. Despite this, the Org tries to save humanity.

The partial rib attributed to a Denisovan

An article published in the journal “Nature” reports the results of a study of over 2,500 fossils found in the Baishiya Karst Cave, in the Chinese region of Xiahe, on the Tibetan plateau, among which a partial rib attributed to a Denisovan. A team of researchers used an analysis technique called Zooarchaeology by Mass Spectrometry (ZooMS) to attribute isolated and often fragmented bones to the right species through collagen characteristics. According to the researchers, the Denisovans may have lived in that cave between 200,000 and 40,000 years ago.

Fantastic Voyage II: Destination Brain by Isaac Asimov

The novel “Fantastic Voyage II: Destination Brain” by Isaac Asimov was published for the first time in 1987.

Albert Morrison is a neurophysicist who is developing theories considered decidedly unorthodox by his colleagues, and that’s at the best of times. When Natalya Boranova, a Soviet scientist, approaches him at a conference to propose that he participate in a miniaturization experiment that requires his skills, he declines her invitation.

To his surprise, Morrison is approached by an American secret agent who suggests he accept Boranova’s invitation to find out if the Soviets have truly developed miniaturization technology. He refuses but is kidnapped by Soviet agents and transported to the USSR, where he’s pressured to participate in an experiment aimed at entering the brain of Pyotr Leonovich Shapirov, a scientist in a coma, to literally try to read his thoughts.

Onslaught by D. Rebbitt

The novel “Onslaught” by D. Rebbitt was published for the first time in 2018. It’s the third book in The Globur Incursion series and follows “Contact”.

Rear Admiral Shin is tasked with managing the rescue of the Marines who survived the disastrous first contact with the aliens they call Globur. The information they collected could be crucial to understanding the Globurs’ intentions. The Marines must survive on a planet where they can only hide from aliens.

A small fleet is hastily sent on the rescue mission, also to try to establish communications with the Globurs in the hope of avoiding an open war to break out with the humans. Rear Admiral Shin is determined to follow the fleet’s traditions and rules even if they were established generations before.