Tomorrow, Saturday, April 18, 2015 the NBA playoffs 2015 are starting. In this season injuries heavily influenced some teams’ performance. The result is that three of the four Conference finalists from a year ago, Oklahoma City Thunder, Indiana Pacers and Miami Heat, haven’t reached the playoffs. Instead, all teams of the Shouthwest Division reached them, a sign of the Western Conference’s high level.

Moses Malone in 2009. Derivative work from a picture including various NBA legends

Moses Eugene Malone was born on March 23, 1955 in Petersburg, Virginia, USA. After finishing high school, he signed a letter of intent to go to the University of Maryland but then decided to become a professional basketball player and in 1974 was drafted by the Utah Stars of the ABA becoming one of the first players to skip college. He played most of his career in the NBA, where he reached the finals with the Houston Rockets and won a title with the Philadelphia 76ers. He retired in 1995.

In 1997, Moses Malone was voted among the NBA’s 50 Greatest Players. In 2001, he was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. A technically complete player, he’s best remembered for his incredible intensity and timing in going for the rebounds.

Pat Riley in 2007 during an NBA game

Patrick James Riley was born on March 20, 1945 in Rome, New York, USA. As an NBA player he won a title with the Los Angeles Lakers. As an NBA coach he won four titles with the Los Angeles Lakers and one with the Miami Heat. As the Miami Heat president he won two more NBA titles.

Next Tuesday, October 28, the NBA championship 2014/2015 will start. This season sees the return of the Charlotte Hornets, who take the name of the first city’s team after New Orleans changed its nickname to Pelicans.

The hunt for the San Antonio Spurs is starting. Will LeBron James win the title again after going back to the Cleveland Cavaliers?